NEW SHOW | STAR TREK: DISCOVERY

STARRING: Sonequa Martin-Green, Michelle Yeoh, Jason Isaacs

Today was the Netflix release of Star Trek: Discovery, the newest Star Trek series since Enterprise in 2005.

This series revolves around the Commander Michael Burnham (Sonequa Martin-Green), an intelligent and head strong young human woman who has been raised by Vulcans after her family were killed by Klingons. When their ship – USS Shenzhou – captained by Captain Georgiou (Michelle Yeoh) comes across an unknown object floating around in space; Commander Burnham volunteers to go and see what it is.

What she discovers – see what I did there – is the presence of Klingons who in this setting haven’t been seen in over a century. The first two episodes are then a battle of wills between Burnham and Captain Georgiou who differ on how to deal with the possible threat of the warrior race.

This all sets up for an exciting opening episode but for me, I was lost for a while in how much Burnham annoyed me! It’s the same annoyance that one feels for Mr Spock and his supreme intelligence and sense of superiority. However, because I was so annoyed by her only went to prove how well she’d embodied the characteristics of Vulcans.

The appearance of another familiar race – the Klingons – is done well as they feature heavily in the episodes as does their language. Their guttural language reminds me a lot of Dothraki but that’s neither here nor there; I’m sure George R.R. Martin got his inspiration from somewhere! Their leader’s drive for unification amongst their race against what they view as a common enemy is definitely relevant to current events. Whether this was intentional remains to be seen but it doesn’t go unnoticed, especially within the inclusion of such a diverse cast.

An African- American woman as the protagonist of a sci-fi series is virtually unheard of but can definitely work. Martin-Green does well enough in the role for me to continue watching it.

My only negative with the show is the effects. While it is set roughly ten years prior to the original Star Trek series – I’m talking Captain Kirk original here people – it looks slightly dated. I realise this may be keeping in line with the original but watching with 2017 eyes makes me a bit picky. I’m used to Apple HD level viewing; felt like I was watching through SnapChat on an Android 😉

Either way, I’ll be watching this and see if it brings any surprises along the way.

Let me know what you think!

